documenta 1997 – 2017: erweiterte Denkkollektive / expanding thought-collectives

documenta Halle
10:00 – 18:30

Carmen Amor, Karen Barad, Beatrice von Bismarck, Kristina Buch, Roger M. Buergel, Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, Catherine David, Okwui Enwezor, Peter Galison, David Joselit, Hiwa K, Lu Jie, Michael Lüthy, Sarat Maharaj, Oliver Marchart, Laura Zheng Ning, Ruth Noack, Nikos Papastergiadis, Griselda Pollock, Tino Sehgal, Raqs Media Collective/Shuddhabrata Sengupta, Adam Szymczyk, Wang Jianwei

The notion of what a contemporary art exhibition can and should be has fundamentally changed over the past twenty years. Exhibitions have evolved into a format that aims not only to present art, but also to communicate current thinking and theories to an increasingly global public. Each documenta is an occasion and opportunity for bringing specific modes of thinking, along with concurrent values and world-views, from their sites of production (e.g. academia) into society. These developments and the adjacent questions and problems posed are in the centre of this symposium. What are the origins of the theories underpinning the last four documentas and how do we evaluate them today? Which modes of thinking are actually compatible with the exhibition format? And how are the global aspirations of the exhibitions realised? These and further questions will be discussed with the Artistic Directors of the past four editions of documenta and the Artistic Director of the upcoming documenta 14 in dialogue with international guests from the fields of art, academia and theory.


Friday, 17.07.2015

Welcome · Hortensia Völckers, Kulturstiftung des Bundes
Introduction · Dorothea von Hantelmann
Hegemonic Shifts: Situating documenta X and 11 · Oliver Marchart
documenta X · From the international to the global · Catherine David, Lu Jie, Laura Zheng Ning, Wang Jianwei

With documenta X, documenta set off on a new course – trying to design and propose new formats for a cultural event supposed to present in a meaningful way the diversity, complexity and heterogeneity of contemporary esthetical practices, and their eventual genealogy in the recent past. Looking at artistic and curatorial practice in contemporary China, the panel will question the reception and circulation of the set of methodologies put forward by dX in non-western contexts.

 · Art in an emerging global society
 · Okwui Enwezor, Sarat Maharaj, Nikos Papastergiadis, Raqs Media Collective/Shuddhabrata Sengupta

Documenta11 continued the socio-theoretical and historical approach taken by documenta X, but set out to expand its geopolitical horizon, questioning the political, cultural and ethical meaning of art in a newly emerging world order. How can one today describe this exhibition’s thought-style (Denkstil), which read culture as a locus of translation, fracture, and dissonance?

Exhibitions: Where Thought Collectives Collide
 · Peter Galison
Concert · M.A. Numminen and defunensemble
 · Verliebte Philosophen

Saturday, 18.07.2015

documenta 12 · 
Migration of Form
 · Roger M. Buergel, Okwui Enwezor, David Joselit, Ruth Noack

documenta 12 located itself within postcolonial discourse with respect to its focus on heterogeneous, non-western modernities, bringing to the centre questions of form and presentation; and the idea that forms have meaning, beyond the borders of culture and epoch. The panel will discuss the exhibition as a space where forms exist in a state of constant transformation and the concomitant pluralisation of the possibilities of art to move in space and time.

dOCUMENTA (13) · 
Speculative Fabulations
 · Karen Barad, Kristina Buch, Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, Griselda Pollock, Tino Sehgal

dOCUMENTA (13) ushered in a general shift from critical to speculative thought, informed by feminist as well as ecological concerns. The exhibition sought to destabilize the categories that have differentiated people, animals, and things since the modern era, interlinked with an acknowledgment or grasp of the ability to act that in turn called for a broader understanding of agency. The panel will discuss how compatible these feminist-ecological thought-styles are with the exhibition format.

documenta 14
 · Few Notes from an Extellectual · Carmen Amor, Hiwa K, Adam Szymczyk
Closing remarks
 · Beatrice von Bismarck, Dorothea von Hantelmann, Michael Lüthy

Introductions and moderation
Dorothea von Hantelmann, Michael Lüthy

The symposium is held in English with simultaneous translation into German.
Free admission
Please register in advance:

Conceived by Dorothea von Hantelmann, documenta visiting professor at the School of Art and Design Kassel

An event by the German Federal Cultural Foundation in cooperation with the School of Art and Design Kassel

documenta Halle
Du-Ry-Str. 1 / am Friedrichsplatz
34117 Kassel

Symposium

documenta 1997 – 2017: erweiterte Denkkollektive / expanding thought-collectives

documenta Halle
17.07.201518.07.2015
10:00 – 18:30

Carmen Amor, Karen Barad, Beatrice von Bismarck, Kristina Buch, Roger M. Buergel, Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, Catherine David, Okwui Enwezor, Peter Galison, David Joselit, Hiwa K, Lu Jie, Michael Lüthy, Sarat Maharaj, Oliver Marchart, Laura Zheng Ning, Ruth Noack, Nikos Papastergiadis, Griselda Pollock, Tino Sehgal, Raqs Media Collective/Shuddhabrata Sengupta, Adam Szymczyk, Wang Jianwei

In den letzten zwanzig Jahren hat sich die Vorstellung dessen, was eine zeitgenössische Kunstausstellung sein kann und was sie leisten soll, grundlegend verändert. Ausstellungen haben sich zu einem global ausgerichteten Format entwickelt, das nicht nur Kunst zeigen, sondern einer zunehmend internationalen Öffentlichkeit aktuelle Theorien und Denkmodelle vermitteln möchte. Jede documenta ist Anlass und Möglichkeit, spezifische Formen des Denkens und damit einhergehend auch Werte und Weltbilder in die Gesellschaft hineinzutragen. Diese Entwicklung und die sich daran anschließenden Fragen und Problemstellungen stehen im Zentrum des Symposiums. Was sind die theoretischen Konzepte, die den letzten vier documenta-Ausstellungen zugrunde liegen, und wie bewerten wir sie heute? Welche Denkstile sind mit dem Format Ausstellung überhaupt kompatibel? Und wie realisiert sich der globale Anspruch der Ausstellungen? Diskutiert werden diese und weitere Fragen von den künstlerischen LeiterInnen der vergangenen vier Ausgaben der documenta und dem künstlerischen Leiter der kommenden documenta 14, gemeinsam mit internationalen Gästen aus Kunst, Wissenschaft und Theorie.

Programm

Freitag, 17.07.2015

Begrüßung · Hortensia Völckers, Kulturstiftung des Bundes
Einführung · Dorothea von Hantelmann
Hegemonic Shifts: Situating documenta X and 11 · Oliver Marchart
documenta X · From the international to the global · Catherine David, Lu Jie, Laura Zheng Ning, Wang Jianwei

Mit der documenta X richtete sich der Selbstanspruch der documenta neu aus. Es ging um den Versuch neue Formate der Präsentation vorzuschlagen und zu gestalten, die der Vielfalt, Komplexität und Heterogenität der zeitgenössischen ästhetischen Praktiken und ihren Entstehungszusammenhängen gerecht werden konnten. Mit Blick auf die gegenwärtige künstlerische und kuratorische Praxis in China befragt das Panel die Rezeption und Verbreitung der von der dX eingeführten Methodologien in nicht-westlichen Kontexten.

Documenta11
 · Art in an emerging global society
 · Okwui Enwezor, Sarat Maharaj, Nikos Papastergiadis, Raqs Media Collective/Shuddhabrata Sengupta

Die Documenta11 erweiterte die gesellschaftstheoretische und -historische Ausrichtung der documenta X in geopolitischer Hinsicht: Ins Zentrum rückte die Frage nach der politischen, kulturellen und ethischen Bedeutung der Kunst im Kontext einer sich neu konstituierenden Weltordnung. Wie bewerten wir den Denkstil dieser Ausstellung, die Kultur als Ort der Übersetzung, des Bruchs und der Dissonanz verstand, aus heutiger Perspektive?

Exhibitions: Where Thought Collectives Collide
 · Peter Galison
Konzert
 · M.A. Numminen und das defunensemble
 · Verliebte Philosophen

Samstag, 18.07.2015


documenta 12 · 
Migration of Form
 · Roger M. Buergel, Okwui Enwezor, David Joselit, Ruth Noack

Innerhalb des postkolonialen Diskurses mit seinem Fokus auf heterogene, nicht-westliche Modernen rückte die documenta 12 die Frage der Form und der Präsentation ins Zentrum. Sie entwickelte das Konzept der Migration der Form, das auf der Vorstellung gründet, dass Formen an und für sich Bedeutungen haben, die über die Grenzen von Kulturen und Epochen hinweg existieren. Diskutiert wird die Ausstellung als Raum der beständigen Transformation schwebender Formen und die damit einhergehende Pluralisierung der Möglichkeiten von Kunst, sich in Raum und Zeit zu bewegen.


dOCUMENTA (13) · 
Speculative Fabulations
 · Karen Barad, Kristina Buch, Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev, Griselda Pollock, Tino Sehgal

Mit der dOCUMENTA (13) ging der Wandel von einem kritischen zu einem spekulativ ausgerichteten Denken einher. Die Ausstellung propagierte die Destabilisierung der seit der Neuzeit getroffenen kategorialen Unterscheidung von Menschen, Tieren und Dingen, mit der sich das Zugeständnis oder die Absprache von Handlungsvermögen verbindet, zugunsten eines erweiterten Verständnisses von Agency. Das Panel diskutiert, wie kompatibel dieser feministisch-ökologische Denkstil mit dem Format Ausstellung ist.


documenta 14
 · Few Notes from an Extellectual · Carmen Amor, Hiwa K, Adam Szymczyk
Schlussworte · Beatrice von Bismarck, Dorothea von Hantelmann, Michael Lüthy

Einführungen und Moderationen
Dorothea von Hantelmann, Michael Lüthy

Das Symposium findet in englischer Sprache mit deutscher Simultanübersetzung statt.
Der Eintritt ist frei.
Um Anmeldung wird gebeten: symposium@documenta60.de

Konzipiert von Dorothea von Hantelmann, documenta-Gastprofessorin der Kunsthochschule Kassel
Eine Veranstaltung der Kulturstiftung des Bundes in Kooperation mit der Kunsthochschule Kassel

documenta Halle
Du-Ry-Str. 1 / am Friedrichsplatz
34117 Kassel